ALMA Fellows

The ABI has launched the ALMA Research Series, Freiburg’s interdisciplinary colloquium on social transformations in Asia, Latin America, Middle East, and Africa. ALMA fellows are doctoral candidates or postdocs conducting interdisciplinary research. They empirically examine phenomena relevant to the social sciences which focus on non-European contexts and societies.

ALMA fellows have the opportunity to work at the ABI in an ALMA Studies Room. More information on how to become an ALMA fellow can be found here.

 

Current ALMA Fellows

  • Judith Altrogge     |     CV (in German)     |     Judith.Altrogge [at] abi.uni-freiburg.de (Email)


    Areas of research: forced migration & return migration;
    Regional focus: West Africa (esp. The Gambia)
     
  • César Bazan Seminario     |     CV (in English)     |     CV (in Spanish)     |     cesar.bazan.seminario [at] gmail.com (Email)

    Areas of research: systems of justice, interculturality, citizen security, decoloniality, socio and environmental conflicts
    Regional focus: Latin America (esp. South America)
     
  • Juan Luis Camacho Cueva     |     CV (in German)     |     juan.luis.camacho [at] abi.uni-freiburg.de (Email)     |     Homepage
    Areas of research: resource conflicts, indigenous movements, neo-extractivism;
    Regional focus: Latin America (esp. Peru/Amazonas)
     
  • Anna Fünfgeld    |    CV    |    anna.fuenfgeld [at] politik.uni-freiburg.de (Email)    |    Homepage
    Areas of research: environmental and resource politics, political ecology, state theories, (neo)gramscian approaches
    Regional focus: Inonesia, Brazil
     
  • Gerrit Gonschorek    |    CV (in German)    |    gerrit.gonschorek [at] vwl.de (Email)    |    Homepage
    Area of research: political economy of public infrastructure expdenditures
    Regional focus: South East Asia
     
  • Rosa Lehmann     |     CV    |     rosa.lehmann [at] uni-jena.de (Email)


    Areas of research: political ecology, development theories, social-ecological inequalities, renewable energies, social movements;
    Regional focus: Mexico, Germany
     
  • Dr. Pascal Mupepele     |     CV     |     pascal.mupepele [at] abi.uni-freiburg.de (Email)

        |    Homepage
    Areas of research: tradition, education and democracy, philosophical foundations of development aid, ethics;
    Regional focus: Francophone Africa (esp. Dem. Republic of Congo)
     
  • Erik Plänitz     |     CV     |    erik.plaenitz [at] abi.uni-freiburg.de ( Email)

        |    Homepage   
    Areas of research: Peace processes (Peacebuilding, Mediation and Local Level Dialogue), climate change and its effects on the global South (Migration, impacts on livelihoods in the urban context, resource conflicts)
    Regional focus: West Africa (esp. Ghana), East Africa (esp. Ethiopia, Rwanda)
     
  • Fabricio Rodríguez     |     CV     |     fabricio.rodriguez [at] abi.uni-freiburg.de (Email)

         |     Homepage
    Asreas of research: political economy of fossile resources, bio economics;
    Regional focus: China - Latin America
     
  • Cita Wetterich     |     CV     |     cita.wetterich [at] unibas.ch (Email)

         |     Homepage
    Areas of research: migration (esp. refugees), gender, security (esp. gender-specific violence);
    Regional focus: East Africa (esp. Eritrea), North Africa, Southern Europe